Grits and Tamales

Life in the Deep South, by Gabriel Aguilera

The Real and Lasting Importance of Robin Williams

They say that over a lifetime only a short list of books give us anything of real and lasting importance. One might say the same thing about films. Dead Poet’s Society mattered a lot to me when I was a young man, a senior in college to be exact, and probably something to do with why I became a teacher. I was at the time suffering from some real bad depression that runs in my family. The movie cheered me up and I was not the same person after seeing it because it distilled down into a pretty tale the importance of the literature and poetry that was keeping me sane. Thanks big guy for your excellent performance in that film. RIP.

Leave a Reply

