Grits and Tamales

Life in the Deep South, by Gabriel Aguilera

On my heel spur

My heel spur has a life and personality. It is temperamental and predictable, the latter only up to a point. Sans surgery, which is dicey at best, it seems likely to stay. This is too bad because I badly want to run a lot more and for longer distances. Heel spur is cooperative some days. On others, however, it is recalcitrant and petulant, as if being neglected while trying to converse with me on other matters.

Part of the message, I think, is that I have reached a certain age, one where I will have to learn to live with and manage certain defects in my physical character.

My achy foot also seems to say every day, that “You are just a man,” and “not everything heals,” and “it’s ok, be grateful for what you have, which is much and maybe more than you deserve.”

I am learning to listen.

One response to “On my heel spur

  1. Painful Foot Problems January 3, 2014 at 11:45 am

    Some things you can do on your own to treat heel spur include stretching before exercising, icing of the foot, wearing properly fitted shoes and keeping the foot elevated. I hope these tips would help you manage your pain.

Leave a Reply

