Grits and Tamales

Life in the Deep South, by Gabriel Aguilera

Somerville

I’ve been in Somerville all week.  Mostly I’ve been laying low, reading, attending seminars, and prepping a guest lecture I have to give on Monday that I sort of wish I had not agreed to since it is taking time from walking around and nosying in book stores.  At least I’ll save money this way and I did have a chance to speak with some folks about my work.

My friend Sasha and her boyfriend let me use their place.  They are in Tuscany and this has made the length of this trip doable given my budget constraint.   Anyway, I walked by Redbones BBQ joint near Davis Sq.  Suffice it to say that I had no desire to have a meal there.   I wonder if I’ll ever want to eat BBQ again outside of Texas and the South?  The picks below suggest why.  Also, they are even better in Memphis.

Montgomery Ribs

Leave a Reply

