Grits and Tamales

Life in the Deep South, by Gabriel Aguilera

First Thoughts

When I arrive in the Deep South in June I will do so with some familiarity.  What I know about the South I have learned through literature, history, and political economy.  I read and loved Richard Wright when I was in high school.  Reading stories about the Jim Crow South made me believe that life in Boyle Heights – a tough Los Angeles inner city community – was not so bad after all.  “Uncle Tom’s Children,” his collection of short stories, convinced me that I had it pretty good and that I actually enjoyed a surfeit of opportunities even in the inner city.  Wright was the first author that sent me to the library to search for his other books.

I have observed, as many others have, that the Deep South resembles Latin America in many respects.  As a student of political economy and Latin American Studies, I have thought a lot about export commodities (staples) and their effects on society and politics during the 19th century.  The region’s economic engines, namely cotton but also other plantation staples, had a little something to do with this.  I have also been learning about the Civil War.  Shelby Foote’s magnum opus, “The Civil War: A Narrative,” has been instructive.  By the middle of the 19th century, the South was a separate nation; it had developed its own way of life and its own vision of republicanism based on states’ rights and slavery.  It took a Northern invasion to keep it within the American republic.

Overall, I have difficulty grasping the cultural consequences of a plantation economy, Civil War, and Jim Crow.  Today, moreover, important structural transformations are underway: industrialization, a growing Latino population, the return of African-Americans, and political polarization.  I look forward to reflecting on all of these themes from the perspective of my day to day life in Montgomery, Alabama.

Leave a Reply

